Attitude · Food · Living with PKU · Moms

Top 10 Foods

So the hardest thing about following my diet is variety. With such restrictions it’s easy to feel like I’m eating the same thing over an over. Right now being finals week, I am definitely feeling the monotony of butter on toast. So I thought it would be fun to think of all the foods I love. Even with my diet, there are so many WONDERFUL foods I can enjoy.

1. Avocados

A favorite delicacy of mine is avocado sushi rolls. It took me a while to acquire a taste for seaweed but once I got it I never turned back! But then avocados taste good on just about anything – rice, bread and mayonnaise, taco salad.

2. Cilantro

Just a whiff of this fragrant herb is enough to make me sigh. I am frequently found praising the name of cilantro. It also goes well with almost any cuisine – Asian stir-fry, Italian pasta salad, Mexican burritos. Oh! Cilantro.

3. Popcorn

Popcorn is one of my staples. And nothing beats my Stir Crazy popcorn popper. This device was used in my family on a regular basis so once I left for college I quickly asked for one of my own for my birthday. It has sustained me through many a movie night and spontaneous party.

4. Coconut Milk

I once had a roommate who lived in Japan for a year and a half and another who had lived in Tahiti. Needless to say I picked up a love for this tropical cream. I love the way it compliments the flavor of Japanese curry with vegetables.

5. Mangos


One bite of a mango and I am just filled with gratitude that such beautiful fruit exists. Seriously, how rich are we to have such delicious food available at just about any market.

6. BYU Creamery Raspberry Sorbet

I did not know non-dairy ice cream could taste so good. This bright pink sorbet may look artificial but is spotted with fresh raspberry chunks. I never need to mourn my dietary restrictions when I go to this ice cream shop.

7. Asian Rice Crackers

Kind of a weird flavor to some people, but I just love them. Any chance I have to go to the Asian mall in Seattle’s China-town and I stock up on these breath-ruining snacks. Also a favorite surprise in care packages from my Mom.

8. Mom’s Low-protein Version of Tortellini Soup

I don’t know how she does it–I’ve unsuccessfully tried to replicate it multiple times. But this soup with spinach, thin rice noodles and Italian spices just hits the spot for this college girl.

9. Corn


Corn! How could I forget. This is my all-time favorite vegetable. I guess it’s starchy make-up, while not as healthy, makes it almost sweet!

10. Blackberries

Being from Washington I could leave out these dark, rich berries that grow like weeds where I come from.  It doesn’t get better than picking a plump blackberry straight off the bush. None of these store-bought Utah bland-berries.

So, like I said, food is the BEST! I am just so grateful that I can eat what I can eat.

3 thoughts on “Top 10 Foods

  1. I heart everything on this list… ok so I’ve never had the raspberry sorbet, but I can assume it’s amazing. I have a little bit of a love affair with cilantro… *goes back to the pantry for more rice crackers*

  2. I love to know that some of the food in the list is part of several recipes in traditional food in my country (México), and also is good to know that also a person get interest in her health so much.

Leave a Reply

