Food · Living with PKU · Moms · Recipes

Yummy Fancy Pasta Dish!

I stumbled across this recipe the other day and had to try it. One of the hardest things about the PKU diet is thinking of something more original than low-protein spaghetti to eat for dinner. So I always love trying new recipes.

Another challenge is feeling full. Something I’ve learned is that adding vegetables to my meals makes them a lot more filling. The low-protein pasta tastes pretty good but doesn’t have much substance. So adding a vegetable is a perfect way to make a meal more substantial and more exciting without adding extra protein.

Image

This dish is basically asparagus, sun-dried tomatoes and pesto sauce. Very flavorful. I used the oil from the sun-dried tomatoes to cook the asparagus. Here is the original recipe. I of course adapted it for my low-protein needs. I made fresh pesto with basil leaves and oil (no Parmesan or nuts). That’s another suggestion I have: find recipes online that you think look delicious and make a low-protein version.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Yummy Fancy Pasta Dish!

Leave a Reply

