Food · Living with PKU · Recipes

Sweet Potato Shepherd’s Pie

I found this recipe on Pinterest and thought it would be good to give my husband and I some variety from our regular cycle of meals. Making it was more work than I like to do on an average night, but it was pretty good, and I thought I would share it because it was really easy to make a vegetarian version. And hey, nothing like sweet potatoes to get you in the Fall spirit! Here is the original recipe:

Skinny Taste: Sweet Potato Turkey Shepherd’s Pie

Now I am not one to follow recipes exactly. I didn’t use parsnips or mushrooms (don’t really like them) and I used dried rosemary instead of fresh. Shoot, I even used “yams” instead of sweet potatoes…still don’t know the difference. So you can look at the recipe and cook it however you like.

Mashed sweet potatoes:

I used Mocha Mix instead of milk.

IMG_1896

Veggies:

I used frozen corn, peas and broccoli, with sauteed onions and garlic. I did add the 2 Tb of flour. But you could use low-protein flour or corn starch instead.

IMG_1897

In the pan to go in the oven:

IMG_1899

The final product:

IMG_1900

Leave a Reply

