Food · Moms · Recipes

Chow Mein and Oriental Salad

I didn’t actually make these on the same night, but I thought they would go well together. The chow mein was something I had never made before and it turned out really well the first time! It’s a simple recipe. The oriental salad is something I’ve done many times. It is great when you’re craving something fresh and crisp.

Panda Express Chow Mein: RECIPE

Image

I followed the above recipe except I left out the celery. Here are some pictures of the process.

Image
Sauteing the onionsImage
Making the sauce
Image
Chopping the cabbage

I used the yaki soba noodles the recipe calls for. But I thought for someone with a lower Phe tolerance these noodles would work really well:

Image
0 g of protein

 

Oriental Salad

Ok as you know, recipes are not my strength, so I’ll do my best to write down how I make this for you. The spinach is just to make it healthy.

Image

  • 1 head cabbage, chopped
  • 6 oz bag of baby spinach
  • 3 cans mandarin oranges, drained
  • 1 1/2 cups crunchy chow mein noodles
  • 3 green onions
  • Oriental salad dressing (i.e. Ken’s Sesame Ginger, Kraft Asian Sesame)

The directions are pretty self- explanatory. You just put it all together. But if you will not being finishing the whole salad in one sitting I recommend adding the chow mein noodles, oranges, and dressing to your portion only, because in the fridge it all gets soggy.

2 thoughts on “Chow Mein and Oriental Salad

Leave a Reply

