Food · Living with PKU · Recipes

Homemade Raspberry Jam

This is the first time I’ve done anything like this, so I am excited about it! This was freezer jam so it was really easy. Turned out delicious! And there’s nothing better than knowing you made it yourself!

IMG_2980
To make raspberry freezer jam, I simply followed the recipe that came with the pectin packet

I bought 4 lbs of raspberries in bulk. I actually mashed them up and put them in the freezer for a couple weeks until I had all the tools and time to make the jam.

To make freezer jam you need:

  • Fruit
  • Pectin (found in the jell-o section)
  • Caning jars
  • Sugar
  • Sauce pan, bowls, spoon/spatulas
  • A funnel would be helpful

There are recipes for jam online, but I simply followed the instructions and recipe that came in the pectin packet. For anyone interested I will walk you through my process.

First I had to thaw the raspberries. I put them in the fridge the day before making the jam. Then I just had to stir them a bit once I put them in this bowl.

IMG_2972

Washed the jars and lids

IMG_2973

The recipe says you can strain half of the berries to get out some seeds. I strained less than half because I didn’t want to run out of raspberries. You have to use the exact amount the recipe calls for. Little PKU shout out– I used my formula can to balance the strainer! 🙂

IMG_2975

Measured out the sugar and stirred it into the raspberries.

IMG_2976IMG_2977

Next I had to boil the pectin according to the instructions, and stir that into the raspberry/sugar mixture. I didn’t have a funnel so I used a measuring cup with a pour spout to pour the jam into the jars.

IMG_2979

I had to let the jam set for 24 hours. Then I put one can in the fridge and the other three in the freezer.

That’s it! No fancy equipment required.

Oh, and this sweet girl woke up in the middle of the process. She was such a good girl and had some lunch in her high chair while I finished the final step of pouring the jam into the jars.

IMG_2978
My beautiful baby girl is over 1 year old! She likes bananas with the peel on
3 thoughts on “Homemade Raspberry Jam

Leave a Reply

