Food · Recipes

“Ziti” Bake

Hi everyone! It’s been a while. I guess I got pretty busy with the holidays and traveling.

IMG_3605
Low-protein “ziti” bake (I didn’t have ziti)

This meal was actually inspired by a comment on my page about making ziti bake for protein-eating family with a low-protein version on the side. Sounded good!

IMG_3607
Protein “ziti” bake (using shells)

The protein version I made was inspired by this recipe: Taste of Home Easy Ziti Bake, except I did shells instead of ziti and ground turkey instead of beef. Oh and I just realized I completely forgot to use eggs. Oh well. My husband and daughter liked it.

IMG_3609
Dinner! Nothing better than eating together.

My version went as follows and tasted really good! Nothing like warm, soft pasta in a yummy sauce.

You will need an 8 x 8 inch baking dish. The recipe says to layer the meat sauce and pasta/cheese mixture alternately, but I couldn’t figure out how to do that with the zucchini and I was in a hurry, so I just mixed it all together.

Ingredients:

  • About 6 oz of low-protein pasta of your choice (I used fusili)
  • 1 Tb olive oil
  • 1 zucchini squash
  • Garlic salt
  • Spaghetti sauce of your choice
  • 2 Tb Alfredo sause

Recipe:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Cook pasta to al dente. Fry zucchini in olive oil until they are somewhat soft, and salt with garlic salt. Drain pasta, add zucchini and a generous amount of red sauce plus about 2 Tb of alfredo sauce (there isn’t much protein in that amount). Pour into baking dish. Top with a bit more red sauce. Cook in the oven for 10 to 15 minutes.

IMG_3604

IMG_3606
Viola!
Leave a Reply

