Food

Stuffed Peppers again

IMG_3733

I thought I’d try making these again. I used zucchini this time. Also, I asked on facebook what people like to put in their stuffed peppers, and it occurred to me that the sauce is maybe what makes the difference. I decided to try an Old El Paso sauce. I chose Roasted Tomato and really like the flavor. The only thing was it was spread pretty thin between all the rice and my husband’s beef. So next time I’ll use two sauce packets, and that way it will be more flavorful and moist.

IMG_3729

This recipe is for two people. For my husband I used beef and I also mixed some brown rice in with it. He got the zucchini and corn in his as well.

Recipe

6 Bell Peppers (I like yellow and orange)

1 ½ cups white rice or low-protein rice, cooked

2 zucchini, diced

2/3 cup frozen corn

1 package of Old El Paso roasted tomato sauce

1 T vegetable oil

For the protein version

1 lb ground beef, browned

½ cup grated Monterey Jack cheese

Cook the rice and brown the beef. Preheat the oven to 375. Cut up the zuchinni, add to the rice. Add corn, oil and stir in the sauce. Grease a pan big enough for 12 pepper halves. Wash peppers and cut through the top to the bottom, so they lie down on their sides. Fill peppers with rice mixture and place on greased pan. (this is where I would add more sauce on top). Cook in the oven for 30 minutes. Sprinkle cheese onto protein versions.

The process

I honestly don’t know how to dice zucchini…so this is what I did. Halved it, sliced the halves, then cut them into smaller pieces.

IMG_3727IMG_3728

Here is all of them before I put the cheese on my husband’s

IMG_3731

Leave a Reply

