Inspiration/motivation · Living with PKU · Moms · Promotion/Awareness · Science

To Indianapolis!

How is everyone’s summer going? Down here in Arizona we are surviving the three digit temperatures by being  creative with indoor play (did you know couch cushions can entertain two little girls for hours?) and by going out of town a lot. 🙂 So far we’ve had a family reunion in southern Utah, a California beach trip, and we’ve got one more reunion coming up in Colorado.

Beach photos!

I just wanted to share my exciting news, which is twofold. One, I will be attending this year’s National PKU Alliance conference in Indianapolis! I’ve always wanted to go and this year it finally felt like the right time. I am looking forward to learning lots, meeting many other PKUers and getting inspired for my blog.

If you’ve gone to the conference before, what was your favorite part?

The second part of my news is that I have been accepted to become a maternal PKU mentor! I am thrilled to have this opportunity to be trained in mentoring pregnant mothers with PKU and helping them on their journey. That training will be held in Indianapolis immediately following the conference. So July 28 – August 2 is going to be an exciting week for me!
I am super excited for this trip for the reasons already stated, plus, as a full-time mom of two little munchkins I think this will be a nice break and renewing experience. At the same time, it will be a little stressful because it will be the first time I’ve ever left my 3 year-old Elena, and it will be for six whole days. But she’ll be in good hands with her Daddy and some trusted friends. I will be bringing my baby Abigail, who is almost 1 year old. She will be in the care of my husband’s sister, who conveniently happens to live in the Indianapolis area. I have never been away from Abigail for more than four hours so that should be an adventure as well.
So, come the end of the month, stay tuned for pictures and posts about the conference! Maybe I will see some of you there? If not, have a great summer!
Leave a Reply

