Food · Recipes

Fajitas con Pico de Gallo

Today at the grocery store, bell peppers were on sale, so I decided we would have fajitas tonight. I also had ingredients for pico de gallo, so I decided to give that a try. For the protein meal, I did a really easy salsa verde chicken in the crock pot.

Fajitas are really simple. I typed up instructions in this post a few years ago. But basically you saute sliced onions and then bell peppers. I added taco seasoning and salt this time.

The salsa verde chicken is about the easiest meat dish I cook. It was literally just chicken, salsa verde from a can, and a little water in the crock pot on low for about 4 hours (since it was only a pound that was enough cooking time). Super. Easy.

The pico de gallo was more of an experiment. I didn’t even look up a recipe. I would recommend doing that, because in the end I thought it was slightly on the onion-y side. But mixed in with the fajitas it tasted good.

I used two roma tomatoes, a fraction of a red onion, a small bunch of cilantro, about 1/2 a tablespoon of minced garlic, some fresh squeezed lemon juice, salt and pepper.

 

I served this in flour tortillas and added a little corn. Over all a great meal, and my husband concurred.

IMG_4816

As always, just sharing recipe ideas to help inspire your own based on your own needs.

Happy PKU-ing!

 

Leave a Reply

